Women’s T20 Cricket 2022: Teams, venue, schedule and all you need to know


Women’s IPL has been in demand for almost two years now and the demand gained vigorous momentum after the success of The Hundred’ Women’s edition last year in England. However, all those demands have so far borne no fruit and the only outcome has been the re-introduction of the three-team and four-match long Women’s T20 challenge, a token tournament to showcase women representation in the richest cricket league in the world.

After being dropped for the 2021 edition due to the Covid-19 outbreak, the tournament returns this year with the matches being played at the same time as the IPL Playoffs but at a different venue. Here’s all you need to know about the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022

Which are the teams participating in the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022?

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Deepti Sharma will lead the three teams Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity respectively.

These three teams will compete in the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 to be crowned champions at the end of the tournament.

Who are the previous winners of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022?

The First Season

The first edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge was played in 2018 where only an exhibition game was held between two teams named IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas at the Wankhede Stadium ahead of Qualifier 1 of IPL 2018. The match was won by the Supernovas led by Harmanpreet Kaur.

The three-team tournament

In 2019, the tournament was extended to become a three-team tournament with the number of matches being increased to three with the matches being played at a separate venue from the IPL Playoffs. Supernovas won the tournament by beating Mithali Raj led Velocity in the final by four wickets.

When the Women’s T20 challenge found sponsors

In 2020, along with the IPL being suspended due to Covid-19, this tournament was also suspended. For the first time, it found sponsors and it was called Jio Women’s T20 Challenge. But Just like the IPL started in UAE, this tournament too was played i UAE at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 04 to 09, coinciding with the IPL 2022 Playoffs.

The tournament was won by IPL Trailblazers who were led by Smriti Mandhana. They stopped the Supernovas from completing a hat-trick by defeating them in the final by 16 runs.

In 2022, for the first time, even the token representation of women in IPL was scrapped as the BCCI found it better not to complicate things, which were already hugely complicated because of IPL being postponed in May 2021 due to the Covid outbreak.

How many overseas players are allowed in each team for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022?

Much like the Indian Premier League, even in the Women’s T20 Challenge, four foreigners are allowed to be a part of the Playing 11 of any side.

What is the schedule for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022?

The BCCI announced that the tournament will be played from May 23 to May 28, 2022, at Pune’s MCA stadium.





7:30 PM

Trailblazersvs Supernovas


3:30 PM

Supernovasvs Velocity


7:30 PM

Velocityvs Trailblazers


7:30 PM


At which venue will the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 be played?

All four matches of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 will be played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. This was also one of the ven ues for the IPL 2022 where 15 matches of the league were scheduled to be played. However, two of Delhi Capitals’ matches were later shifted to Mumbai due to Covid-19 related issues with the team.

When and Where can you watch the matches of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022?

Just like the IPL, the broadcast rights of the Women’s T20 Challenge remain with Star Sports and hence all the four matches will be telecast and live-streamed through Star Sports and Disney Plus Hotstar respectively. The timing of all the four matches, except the second one, is from 07:30 pm IST. The second match, which coincides with Qualifier 1, will be played from 03:30 pm IST.

What are the squads like for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022?




Harmanpreet Kaur (c)

Smriti Mandhana (C)

Deepti Sharma (C)

Taniya Bhatia (VC)

Poonam Yadav (VC)

Sneh Rana (VC)

*Alana King

Arundhati Reddy

Shafali Verma

Ayushi Soni

*Hayley Matthews

*Ayabonga Khaka

Chandu V

Jemimah Rodrigues


*Deandra Dottin

Priyanka Priyadarshini

*Kathryn Cross

Harleen Deol

Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Keerthi James

Meghna Singh

Renuka Singh

*Laura Wolvaardt

Monica Patel

Richa Ghosh

Maya Sonawane

Muskan Malik

S. Meghana

*Natthakan Chantham

Pooja Vastrakar

Saiqa Ishaque

Radha Yadav

Priya Punia

*Salma Khatun

Aarti Kedar

Rashi Kanojia

*Sharmin Akter

Shivali Shinde

*Sophie Ecclestone

*Sophia Brown

Simran Bahadur

*Suné Luus

Sujata Mallik

Yastika Bhatia

Mansi Joshi


Pranavi Chandra

Note: Players with * infront of thier names are ovreseas stars

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.

We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor