Vice-Presidential Election Ends, Jagdeep Dhankhar Frontrunner: 10 Facts


New Delhi:
The voting for choosing the next Vice-President of India ended this evening at 5 pm. NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankar, who is facing opposition’s Margaret Alva, is expected to sail through with BJP support.

Here are 10 updates on this big story:

  1. 725 MPs voted in the election of the Vice President, sources said.¬†Even though the Trinamool Congress had decided not to vote, Bengal leader of opposition Shubhendu Adhikari’s father Sisir Adhikari, and brother Dibyendu Adhikari voted. 34 Trinamool MPs did not vote. Results are likely later today.

  2. Two BJP MPs did not cast their votes. Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre did not vote as they are unwell, sources said. They didn’t vote in the Presidential election as well.

  3. Jagdeep Dhankhar — best known for his role as the former Governor of Bengal — can expect 527 votes, far higher than the 372 required to win. Altogether it could be 70 per cent of the total votes, two per cent more than M Venkaiah Naidu received.

  4. The Electoral College comprises 780 MPs — 543 in Lok Sabha and 245 in Rajya Sabha. Leaving aside the eight vacant seats in the Upper House and the 36 MPs of Trinamool Congress, which decided to abstain from voting, 744 MPs are expected to vote.

  5. The NDA has 441 MPs, including 394 of the BJP. Five nominated members are also supporting the NDA candidate.

  6. Mr Dhankhar also has the support of several other non-NDA parties – Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR Congress, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, Akali Dal and the Eknath Shinde faction of the Shiv Sena. Together, they have 81 MPs.

  7. Margaret Alva can expect 26 per cent votes (around 200). She has the support of Congress, MK Stalin’s DMK, Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal, Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party and Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party and the Left parties.

  8. Besides, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Aam Aadmi Party and the nine MPs of Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction are supporting Ms Alva

  9. In the last election, Opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi received 32 per cent of votes.

  10. Under the system of proportional representation by a single transferable vote, the elector has to mark preferences against the names of the candidates.