Getting connected on Instagram is usually considered the second base in a budding relationship, especially if you started out from one of those online dating apps. However, there are moments when you are not sure if a new person has blocked you or has just removed their profile picture and posts. To help you out in those awkward situations, we have compiled a few methods you can follow to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram (2021)
Search their Username
Let’s get the basics out of the way. The easiest way to know if someone has blocked you is to search their profile. To check that, head to the Search section and type their username. If you can’t see their username, there’s a chance (more on this in the next section) that they have blocked you. Take a look at the image comparison below for reference.
Check Profile on Instagram Web
Searching username isn’t conclusive evidence that the person has blocked you. It is possible that the person has decided to deactivate or delete their Instagram account. Hence, this is the time for you to put on your detective glasses and dig deeper. How to do that, you ask? Well, suffix their name to Instagram’s URL and open the URL in a browser where you are not logged in. It is important to make sure that you’re not logged in to Instagram. If you’re someone who uses Instagram from a web browser, you can just open a new incognito tab to check. The URL should look like this:
If their profile shows up here and doesn’t appear when you’re logged in, you can be sure that they have blocked you. Even if they have a private Instagram account, you’ll see it with the text ‘The Account is Private’. This is a sure shot strategy to know if the person has an active Instagram account.
If the person has deleted or deactivated their account, you’ll see a page that reads ‘Sorry, this page isn’t available.’ Following this strategy, you can be sure if the person has deleted their account or has just blocked you. You can also borrow your friend’s phone and search for the person’s name from their Instagram account, but I won’t recommend doing it when you can do all the work yourself without leaving a trace.
Check Profile on Instagram App
If you can access the person’s profile from old comments or through DMs, check for the number of posts. If it shows a certain number of posts in the post count and shows ‘No Posts Yet’ in the Feed, it means that they have blocked you. In case you’re not blocked, you’ll see all their posts.
Methods that won’t help
1. Sending a message
While Snapchat throws a “Failed to send – Tap to try again” error when you try texting someone who has blocked you, Instagram doesn’t. It takes a rather subtle approach. The blocked person can keep sending messages, but none of these messages will reach the recipient. I’m sure this must have caused quite a lot of drama among people, but this is what Instagram offers and it is good to be aware of that.
In case you’re wondering, no, the messages you sent will not show up even if the person chooses to unblock you later. As you can see below, I didn’t receive the new messages I sent earlier after unblocking the account. This is an Instagram tip everyone should be aware of, especially if you’re dealing with a person with frequent mood swings.
2. Checking their display picture
Unlike WhatsApp where the display picture just fades away, you won’t know if a person has blocked you by checking their display picture. Instagram will still show the profile picture even if the person has blocked you. Hence, that’s something you should keep in mind when you’re trying to figure out if the person has blocked you.
Find If Someone Restricted You on Instagram
Now that you’re all caught up with the basics, it is time to discuss the complicated part – account restriction, also known as shadow banning. Instagram recently added the restrict feature to help users silence abusive accounts. While Instagram implemented the feature with the good intent of reducing negative interactions on the platform, some people have started using it as an alternative to blocking a person.
When you’re restricted, all your comments go through a review system. The other person can choose to see and approve the comment, delete it, or ignore it. Plus, the recipient won’t get any form of notifications and all your direct messages will be in the Message Requests section.
Now, to know if someone restricted you, there are two ways. If you can’t see the activity status of the person you’re texting while you haven’t disabled activity status, check from a mutual friend’s account. Do keep in mind that your friend shouldn’t disable activity status too. If you can see their activity status from your friend’s account and not from yours, the person has restricted you.
Another way is to check the comments you’ve posted on their profile. If you can see the comments on your end and can’t see all or some of the comments from your friend’s account, it is an indication that the person has restricted your account and is selectively approving comments.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How do you tell if you have been blocked on Instagram?
You can search their username to check if the person has blocked you on Instagram.
Q. What does it look like when someone blocks you on Instagram?
When someone blocks you, you can’t see the posts they’ve shared on Instagram and can’t view their Instagram stories.
Q. Is it possible to see who blocked you on Instagram?
There isn’t a specific place to see who blocked you. However, you can follow methods like searching username to know if someone blocks you.
Q. What happens when someone blocks you on Instagram?
When you get blocked, you can’t view their story and posts. Your messages will not get delivered to the recipient and you can’t make video chats with the person.
Q. Why does it say 0 posts on Instagram but not blocked?
Instagram often shows 0 posts when the other person’s account is private.
Q. Can you request to follow someone on Instagram if they blocked you?
No, you can’t request to follow someone who has blocked you on Instagram.
Q. Will the person receive all the text after unblocking me, that I sent during the block period?
No, all the messages you sent during the block period are gone forever and the person won’t receive them.
Q. Can I see someone profile after blocking them?
You can’t see it from search, but you can access it from old comments or DM. Even then, you won’t see their posts and stories.
Find out If You Got Blocked on Instagram
These are the working methods to know if someone blocked you on Instagram. Before you head out, do not forget to check our coverage on the new Instagram features to know what the Facebook-owned company has added in the recent past.
Also Publish AT: https://beebom.com/know-if-someone-blocked-you-on-instagram/