Guwahati Municipal Corporation Election Results 2022 LIVE: BJP leading in ten wards


GMC Election Results 2022 LIVE, Guwahati Civic Poll Results 2022 Live News: The BJP swept the Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) elections, which were held after a gap of nine years. Out of total 60 wards, the BJP-AGP alliance won 58 wards. The Aam Aadmi Party’s entry turned the bipolar contest between the BJP and Congress into a triangular one. Both AAP and AJP managed to win one ward each. Altogether 197 candidates were in the fray in 57 wards. BJP candidates in three wards were already elected uncontested. 

Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma led the BJP’s election campaign, addressing multiple rallies across the city, while the saffron party’s coalition partner at Dispur, Asom Gana Parishad’s (AGP), campaign was helmed by Agriculture Minister and party president Atul Bora. Meanwhile, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee chief Bhupen Borah led the state’s main Opposition party on its campaign trail. The other parties were also not to be left behind with Aam Aadmi Party bringing in its Delhi MLA Atishi Marlena to woo voters, while Assam Jatiya Parishad had its chief Lurinjyoti Gogoi leading the campaign. 

Guwahati Municipal Election Results 2022 Live Updates, Guwahati Municipal Elections Winning Candidates List 2022

The ruling BJP, which is contesting in 53 wards, has announced a slew of initiatives for improving infrastructure in the city if voted to power in the civic polls. In its ‘Sankalpa Patra’ (election manifesto) which was released by Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, the saffron party has assured of round-the-clock piped water to all households. It has vowed to make the city free of water logging problems by undertaking different initiatives, including de-siltation of drains and river channels using modern technology.